In/Appropriate Language
In/Appropriate Language
An Interview with a Warlock of the Church of Satan
0:00
-1:07:26

An Interview with a Warlock of the Church of Satan

A portrait of the author dressed in red (G. A. Nuttall)

After reading The Satanic Bible, written by Anton Szandor LaVey, I wanted to learn more about this religion and so I reached out to the Church of Satan in upstate, New York and requested an interview with a church representative. Church of Satan Warlock Michael Anthony Mandrake promptly reached back to me and we spent an hour together. Warlock Mandrake was generous with his time and kindly indulged me, answering all of my questions and telling me everything I wished to know.

Based in upstate New York, Church of Satan members practice LaVeyan Satanism, which is named after the church’s founder, Anton LaVey. LaVeyan Satanism may not be what many expect. For example, Satanism is atheistic. Being rationalists first and foremost, adherents of Satanism do not believe in gods, devils or even in Satan theirself1. A few stereotypes and clichés are turned on their heads, and by the end of our interview the listener will have a good sense of what Satanism is and isn't, along with an understanding of what LaVeyan Satanists do believe.

This interview was originally booked over a mother's day weekend and the initial date was tentative: Warlock Mandrake had mother's day plans that came first. Satanists love their mothers the same as everyone else.


Note: This week, I present to you this 2014 interview, taken from my vaults. My flood damage is now repaired and will return to regular programming next week.

Music credit: The song heard after the interview is You Give an Account, performed by Sonny Boy Williamson II.

1

A singular, gender-neutral pronoun seems correct here.

0 Comments